Frankfort Independent Foundation

Our Foundation

Frankfort Foundation Image  In 2007 a group of loyal supporters of Frankfort High School and Second Street School founded the Frankfort Independent Schools Education Foundation.  The Foundation is a 501 (c)3 nonprofit organization, whose primary intent is to develop alternate sources of revenue to support the facilities, activities, educational programs, teachers and scholarship opportunities within the Frankfort Independent Schools.  In addition to fundraising, the FISEF created the FIS Hall of Fame.  Since 2011, 52 individuals have been honored with Hall of Fame induction.  They represent alumni, faculty, administrators and benefactors of Frankfort High, Second Street School, Clinton Street School and Mayo-Underwood School.
Among those founding members were Sherrill Smith, Mike Oder, Joe Johnson, Kay Harrod, Paula Collins, Polly Coblin, Steve Brooks, Derrick Graham, Frank Miklavcic and Katie Hecker.  

In 2014, a new group came together to reignite the mission of the FISEF.  1969 graduate Ben Smith had retired from an executive position with American Express and had moved back to the Central Kentucky area.  Upon seeing the condition of the facilities, etc., he set about putting a new foundation board in place.  Alumni Joe Johnson, Bill Rodgers, Scott Tippett, Polly Coblin, joined Mr. Smith on the reorganized board.  Mac Yocum was hired as the Executive Director to manage the day to day operations.  Over the next few years, alumni Ed Rall, Clarence Metcalf, Freda Harris, Justin O'Malley, Brendan Norman, Natalie Wilkerson and Sheila Burton Mason came on board.

 The current FISEF board has gone from having $500 in operating capital to having six figure donations from prominent benefactors. The Foundation's current Frankfort Forever Capital Campaign is in full force.  The goal of the Capital Campaign is to upgrade the FHS athletic facilities; provide scholarships for students and teachers; and provide new educational opportunities and programs.  To learn more about how you can become a part of the FIS Education Foundation, email Mac Yocum at [email protected]
-Mac Yocum 

Join the Foundation!


The FISEF provides monetary grants to the teachers and staff of Early Learning Academy, Second Street School, and Frankfort High School. This grant program funds enriching educational tools and experiences for FIS students. Grant applications may be submitted any time during the calendar year and must be submitted by the Principal of the school that will receive the grant. Applications will be considered and awarded based on available funds. Material or equipment purchased must remain the property of the school. Grants are not intended to be used for staff development or other training purposes. 


P.O. Box 5443
Frankfort, KY 40602 
View text-based website